Embracing the Force

Posted on

So, I really struggled with the last couple of art pieces I worked on….the kind of struggle that makes you think you just can’t paint anymore struggle…

I was dreading working on a commission piece I need to complete–because I don’t care for: the subject matter, the 3-D object it is to be painted on, and the benefactor herself (she’s just not pleasant, blessherheart).  Once I admitted it to myself, the real reason I was dreading painting was…..wait for it….my last two pieces were near failures.

Tonight, painting has got me thinking about God and God’s will.  Sometimes I am in the groove, and the painting feels like it just comes through me: like I had nothing to do with it, like I was God’s channel, God’s medium.  Other times, I take the brush from Him and “make it work” or “rush” it.  The painting gets tight, as Dear Professor would call it.  (“Tight = overworked.  Good paintings are loose and effortless.”)  The painting gets sophomoric, ugly, muddy, and I get stressed out.  That’s when I look back up to God pleadingly and ask him to finish it for me.  Once I hand over control, God’s flow returns, and I see a beautiful picture of Redemption.

On nights like tonite, when a much dreaded piece painted itself supernaturally, I remember that this talent is not mine.  It was given to me.  I need to use it, but I need to surrender to the Force that paints it for me.

I have never had a painting that came out exactly like I planned it.  I’ve come to terms with letting the piece “be what it wants to be.”  When I embrace the force (God’s will), the result is always better than the plan.  (And for the record, I believe there are many outcomes and directions that God and I can take a painting….not just one predetermined fatalistic one…. )

Thank God for happy accidents and for making something remarkable out of my many messes.

About Me

Why didn't my mama tell me that I would be in a transition for the bulk of my life?? I've been married almost ten years, but every day is new. I'm a parent, but just when I get the hang of a routine, it changes. I'm sincerely hoping to positively impact this generation and the next. I never really caught on to life in the ATL suburbs, but I have a feeling I'll find my place as soon as I find myself.

Leave a comment